And the winners in 2017 are . . . .

Secondary Novel:

WINNER A Library of Lemons by Jo Cotterill

HIGHLY COMMENDED The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell

Primary Novel:

WINNER  The Person Controller by David Baddiel

HIGHLY COMMENDED The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Picture Book:

WINNER Nibbles the Book Monster by Emma Yarlett

HIGHLY COMMENDED The Detective Dog by Julia Donaldson

A Fantastic Awards Ceremony and Launch for OBA 2017

Thank you to Oxford High School for hosting the Awards Ceremony, which took place in November 2016.  There was a fantastic audience of about 400 students from around 30 schools in Oxfordshire.  The master of ceremonies, Mark Thornton, kept everything running smoothly, the authors were really interesting and the whole audience got drawing with illustrators Steve and Steven.  We then retired for cake and book signing.  Read more and see the photos

Pickabook can supply all books on the longlists at 30% discount. The link to their website is

Tom McLaughlin (The Accidental Prime Minister), Teri Terry (Mind Games), Lisa Williamson (The Art of being Normal), Steve Antony (Please Mr Panda) and Steven Lenton (illustrator of The Astounding Broccoli Boy by Frank Cottrell-Boyce)


Key dates for the next awards:

5 Nov 2016 Longlist announced
27 Jan 2017 Voting deadline for shortlist

2 Feb 2017 Shortlist announced

28 Mar 2017 Voting deadline for winner

31 Mar 2017 Winners announced

Awards Ceremony in autumn term 2017


Local Oxfordshire people with a passion for books.  Read more